Avatar: The Last Airbender

Avatar: The Last Airbender premiered in February 2005 on Nickelodeon. The animated fantasy action series ran for three seasons and 61 half-hour episodes.

The series led to a live-action theatrical movie in 2010 and a spin-off continuation series The Legend of Korra in 2012. A live-action re-imagining of the series debuted on Netflix in 2024.

About The Show

The world is divided into four nations — the Water Tribe, the Earth Kingdom, the Fire Nation and and the Air Nomads — each represented by a natural element for which the nation is named. Benders have the ability to control and manipulate the element from their nation. Only the Avatar is the master of all four elements. The ruthless Fire Nation wants to conquer the world but the only bender who has enough power, the Avatar, has disappeared … until now. His tribe soon discovers that Aang is the long-lost Avatar. Now Katara and Sokka must safeguard Aang on his journey to master all four elements and save the world from the Fire Nation. [via Gracenote]

The Episode List

The episode list and air dates below are for Nickelodeon in the United States. The dates, days, and times listed are for their first appearance on the network. The codes are official episode numbers used by the network.

Code Title Date Day Time
Book One: Water
101 The Boy in the Iceberg Feb-21-2005 Mon 7:00p
102 The Avatar Returns Feb-21-2005 Mon 7:30p
103 The Southern Air Temple Feb-25-2005 Fri 8:00p
104 The Warriors of Kyoshi Mar-4-2005 Fri 8:00p
105 The King of Omashu Mar-18-2005 Fri 8:00p
106 Imprisoned Mar-25-2005 Fri 8:00p
107 The Spirit World (Winter Solstice, Part 1) Apr-8-2005 Fri 8:00p
108 Avatar Roku (Winter Solstice, Part 2) Apr-15-2005 Fri 8:00p
109 The Waterbending Scroll Apr-29-2005 Fri 7:00p
110 Jet May-6-2005 Fri 8:00p
111 The Great Divide May-20-2005 Fri 8:00p
112 The Storm Jun-3-2005 Fri 8:00p
113 The Blue Spirit Jun-17-2005 Fri 8:00p
114 The Fortuneteller Sept-23-2005 Fri 8:00p
115 Bato of the Water Tribe Oct-7-2005 Fri 8:00p
116 The Deserter Oct-21-2005 Fri 8:00p
117 The Northern Air Temple Nov-4-2005 Fri 8:00p
118 The Waterbending Master Nov-18-2005 Fri 8:30p
119 The Siege of the North, Part 1 Dec-2-2005 Fri 8:00p
120 The Siege of the North, Part 2 Dec-2-2005 Fri 8:30p
Book Two: Earth
201 The Avatar State Mar-17-2006 Fri 8:00p
202 The Cave of Two Lovers Mar-24-2006 Fri 7:54p
203 Return to Omashu Apr-7-2006 Fri 8:00p
204 The Swamp Apr-14-2006 Fri 8:00p
205 Avatar Day Apr-28-2006 Fri 8:00p
206 The Blind Bandit May-5-2006 Fri 8:00p
207 Zuko Alone May-12-2006 Fri 8:00p
208 The Chase May-26-2006 Fri 8:00p
209 Bitter Work Jun-2-2006 Fri 8:00p
210 The Library Jul-14-2006 Fri 8:00p
211 The Desert Jul-14-2006 Fri 8:30p
212 The Serpent’s Pass Sept-15-2006 Fri 8:00p
213 The Drill Sept-15-2006 Fri 8:30p
214 City of Walls and Secrets Sept-22-2006 Fri 8:00p
215 The Tales of Ba Sing Se Sept-29-2006 Fri 8:00p
216 Appa’s Lost Days Oct-13-2006 Fri 8:00p
217 Lake Laogai Nov-3-2006 Fri 8:00p
218 The Earth King Nov-17-2006 Fri 7:52p
219 The Guru Dec-1-2006 Fri 8:00p
220 The Crossroads of Destiny Dec-1-2006 Fri 8:30p
Book Three: Fire
301 The Awakening Sept-21-2007 Fri 8:30p
302 The Headband Sept-28-2007 Fri 8:30p
303 The Painted Lady Oct-5-2007 Fri 8:30p
304 Sokka’s Master Oct-12-2007 Fri 8:30p
305 The Beach Oct-19-2007 Fri 8:30p
306 The Avatar and the Firelord Oct-26-2007 Fri 8:30p
307 The Runaway Nov-2-2007 Fri 8:30p
308 The Puppetmaster Nov-9-2007 Fri 8:30p
309 Nightmares and Daydreams Nov-16-2007 Fri 8:30p
310 The Day of Black Sun, Part 1: The Invasion Nov-30-2007 Fri 8:00p
311 The Day of Black Sun, Part 2: The Eclipse Nov-30-2007 Fri 8:30p
312 The Western Air Temple Jul-14-2008 Mon 8:00p
313 The Firebending Masters Jul-15-2008 Tue 8:00p
314 The Boiling Rock, Part 1 Jul-16-2008 Wed 8:00p
315 The Boiling Rock, Part 2 Jul-16-2008 Wed 8:30p
316 The Southern Raiders Jul-17-2008 Thu 8:00p
317 The Ember Island Players Jul-18-2008 Fri 8:00p
318 Sozin’s Comet, Part 1: The Phoenix King Jul-19-2008 Sat 8:00p
319 Sozin’s Comet, Part 2: The Old Masters Jul-19-2008 Sat 8:30p
320 Sozin’s Comet, Part 3: Into the Inferno Jul-19-2008 Sat 9:00p
321 Sozin’s Comet, Part 4: Avatar Aang Jul-19-2008 Sat 9:30p
Combined episodes (with Nick’s promotional titles)
999 (101/102) The Avatar Returns Feb-21-2005 Mon 7:00p
998 (119/120) The Siege of the North Dec-2-2005 Fri 8:00p
997 (210/211) The Fury of Aang Jul-14-2006 Fri 8:00p
996 (212/213) The Secret of the Fire Nation Sept-15-2006 Fri 8:00p
995 (219/220) The Crossroads of Destiny Dec-1-2006 Fri 8:00p
994 (310/311) The Day of Black Sun Nov-30-2007 Fri 8:00p
993 (314/315) The Boiling Rock Jul-16-2008 Wed 8:00p
992 (318-321) Sozin’s Comet Jul-19-2008 Sat 8:00p
Recap Specials & Shorts
Book 1 Recap Avatar: The Legend So Far Nov-18-2005 Fri 8:00p
Book 2 Recap Avatar: The Legend Continues Sept-15-2007 Sat 12:00p
Super deformed Short #1: Bending Battle Sept-21-2007 Fri 9:00p
Super deformed Short #2: Swamp Skiin’ Throwdown Sept-28-2007 Fri 9:00p
Super deformed Short #3: School Time Shipping Oct-5-2007 Fri 9:00p
Live-Action Movie & Special
Special The Last Airbender Revealed Jun-30-2010 Wed 7:00p
Movie The Last Airbender (2010) Jan-21-2013 Mon 6:00p


The series was originally going to premiere in November 2004, according to at the time.

Special airings of all the episodes with pop-up facts throughout each episode debuted on Nicktoons as Avatar Extras. The first Book ran from May-August 2009, with Books 2 and 3 getting the “extra” treatment in June 2010.