Canadian Networks

DHX Media’s “Degrassi” Receives Primetime Emmy Nomination

Author: Nickandmore!

Degrassi Season 14Halifax, NS, July 17, 2015 – DHX Media (“DHX” or the “Company”) (NASDAQ: DHXM; TSX: DHX.A, DHX.B), a key player internationally in the creation of content for families and children, is pleased to announce that Degrassi, Canada’s longest-running television series, has been nominated for a Primetime Emmy in the “Outstanding Children’s Program” category. The nomination was announced by The Academy of Television Arts and Sciences yesterday. This is the fourth such nomination for Degrassi, which is produced by DHX Media. The series was co-created by Linda Schuyler who is also Executive Producer with Stephen Stohn, Sarah Glinski and Matt Huether.

The Emmy nomination comes on the heels of the June 2015 announcement that Degrassi: Next Class, the new iteration of the series, will premiere in 2016 on Netflix worldwide and on Family Channel in Canada. The news of the Netflix pick-up received an outpouring of excitement from both press and fans alike that the series would not only live on after its 14-year run, but would now be available to viewers across the globe.

“What an honour for our entire Degrassi team. I couldn’t be more proud!” said Executive Producer, Linda Schuyler. “This nomination reinforces our dedication to continuing to produce relevant programming for young people. As Degrassi concludes its tremendous run on TeenNick and MTV, we look forward to continuing the show’s legacy for our devoted fans with Degrassi: Next Class on Netflix worldwide and Family Channel in Canada.”

Degrassi is a pull-no-punches dramatic series that tackles the real-life issues of high school students. The series focuses on a group of teens as they begin their journey into adulthood. Pushing their own limits and testing the bonds of family and friends, the students each find their own way to deal with a range of issues: from homophobia, racism, substance abuse and violence to burgeoning sexuality, body issues, heartbreak and the complications of dating in the social media age. The series strives to entertain its post-millennial audience while always reinforcing its core principle: You are not alone.

Degrassi cast regulars include Amanda Arcuri as Lola Pacini; Luke Bilyk as Drew Torres; Munro Chambers as Eli Goldsworthy; Reiya Downs as Shay Powers; Sarah Fisher as Becky; Ana Golja as Zoë Rivas; Nikki Gould as Grace Cardinal; Ricardo Hoyos as Zig Novak; Demetrius Joyette as Mike Dallas; Ehren Kassam as Jonah Haak; Andre Kim as Winston Chu; Lyle Lettau as Tristan Milligan; Spencer Macpherson as Hunter Hollingsworth; Eric Osborne as Miles Hollingsworth III; Aislinn Paul as Clare; Cristine Prosperi as Imogen; AJ Saudin as Connor; Olivia Scriven as Maya Matlin; Melinda Shankar as Alli; Jessica Tyler as Jenna; Olivia Scriven as Maya; Sara Waisglass as Frankie Hollingsworth; and Richard Walters as Deon “Tiny” Bell. Classic cast member Stefan Brogren returns as Principal Archie “Snake” Simpson.