Nickelodeon’s “Kids’ Choice Awards 2002” Premieres April 20

Author: Nickandmore!

via Nickelodeon press release:


Eddie Murphy, Jennifer Lopez, Pink, Destiny’s Child, Smash Mouth, Britney Spears, Chris Tucker, Jessica Alba, Jackie Chan, Jennifer Aniston, Mike Myers, Cameron Diaz and *N SYNC Among Nominees

Shrek , Friends, Dr. Dolittle 2, Harry Potter and Rush Hour 2 Garner Top Nods




Los Angeles, Calif. — March 5, 2002 — Kid favorite Rosie O’Donnell will return for a sixth year to host Nickelodeon’s 15th Annual Kids’ Choice Awards, joined by an array of stars from the worlds of film, music, sports and television. The event, which celebrates the extreme power of kids, will air live from the Barker Hangar in Santa Monica, CA, on Saturday, April 20, from 8-9:30PM ET/PT (tape delayed for West Coast).

‘In celebration of our 15-year anniversary, we are going to the extreme,’ said Albie Hecht, President, Film and TV Entertainment for Nickelodeon, TV Land and TNN and an executive producer of the show. ‘We’re taking all of the elements of the show that kids love best and pushing them to the limit to make this the loudest, the biggest and the messiest Kids’ Choice Awards ever. And we’re delighted that Rosie is back to lead the charge with her kid-friendly brand of fun and humor.’

‘I’m thrilled to be back hosting the Kids’ Choice Awards this year,’ said O’Donnell. ‘The fact that last year over 15 million kids voted proves that kids are a powerful force in America. This is a kids’ show about kids’ choices and I’m proud to be part of it.’

The feature film Shrek and the television series Friends topped the list of kids’ favorites this year. Shrek garnered 5 nominations for favorite movie, favorite book and favorite voices from an animated movie (Eddie Murphy, Cameron Diaz, Mike Myers); followed by Friends with 4 nominations for favorite TV show, favorite TV actors (Matt LeBlanc, Matthew Perry) and favorite TV actress (Jennifer Aniston). Rush Hour 2, Dr. Dolittle 2 and Harry Potter followed with 3 nominations each for favorite movie, favorite male movie star (Jackie Chan, Chris Tucker, Eddie Murphy), favorite female movie star (Raven Simone), favorite book (Harry Potter series) and video game (Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone).

The nominees for Nickelodeon’s 15th Annual Kids’ Choice Awards are:


Favorite Movie Favorite Male Movie Star
Dr. Dolittle 2 Jackie Chan (Rush Hour 2)
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone Brendan Frasier (The Mummy Returns)
Rush Hour 2 Eddie Murphy (Dr. Dolittle 2)
Shrek Chris Tucker (Rush Hour 2)


Host/Nominee Announcement

Favorite Voice From An Animated Movie  

Favorite Female Movie Star

Billy Crystal (Monsters, Inc.) Julie Andrews (The Princess Diaries)
Cameron Diaz (Shrek) Jennifer Lopez (The Wedding Planner)
Mike Myers (Shrek) Raven Simone (Dr. Dolittle 2)
Eddie Murphy (Shrek) Reese Witherspoon (Legally Blonde)
Favorite Song Favorite Male Singer
Don’t Let Me Be The Last To Know

(Britney Spears)

Aaron Carter

Lil’ Bow Wow

Get The Party Started (Pink) Lil’ Romeo
I’m A Believer (Smash Mouth) Usher
Pop (*N SYNC)
Favorite Singing Group Favorite Female Singer
Backstreet Boys Janet Jackson
Destiny’s Child Jennifer Lopez
Dream Pink
*N SYNC Britney Spears
Favorite Band
Baha Men
Smash Mouth
Sugar Ray
Favorite Television Show Favorite Television Actor
Buffy The Vampire Slayer Nick Cannon (The Nick Cannon Show)
Friends Matt LeBlanc (Friends)
Lizzie McGuire Frankie Muniz (Malcolm In The Middle)
7th Heaven Matthew Perry (Friends)
Favorite Cartoon Favorite Television Actress
Hey Arnold! Jennifer Aniston (Friends)
Rugrats Amanda Bynes (The Amanda Show)
Scooby Doo Hilary Duff (Lizzie McGuire)
The Simpsons Melissa Joan Hart (Sabrina The Teenage Witch)
Favorite Sports Team Favorite Female Athlete
Arizona Diamondbacks Mia Hamm
Los Angeles Lakers Michelle Kwan
New York Yankees Serena Williams
San Francisco 49ers Venus Williams


Host/Nominee Announcement
Favorite Male Sports Star
Kobe Bryant
Michael Jordan
Shaquille O’Neal
Tiger Woods
Favorite Video Game Favorite Book
Backyard Basketball Atlantis: The Lost Empire
Crash Bandicoot:The Wrath Of Cortex Chicken Soup For The Teenage Soul series
Harry Potter And The Sorcerer’s Stone Harry Potter series
Mario Kart: Super Circuit Shrek: The Novel
Favorite Male Action Hero Favorite Female Action Hero
Antonio Banderas (Spy Kids) Jessica Alba (Dark Angel)
Jackie Chan (Rush Hour 2) Sarah Michelle Gellar (Buffy The Vampire Slayer)
Chris Tucker (Rush Hour 2) Angelina Jolie (Laura Croft:Tomb Raider)
Elijah Wood (Lord Of The Rings) Zhang Ziyi (Rush Hour 2)


Kids will be able to vote both on and off air in a total of 18 categories, including the first-ever ‘Favorite Action Hero’ category. In addition, surprise awards will be announced during the show. Voting kicks off on March 25 online on Beginning April 1 through April 5, kids can also vote by calling a toll-free number displayed on the screen during programming on Nickelodeon.

Nickelodeon’s 15th Annual Kids’ Choice Awards will be seen in more than 120 million households on Nickelodeon’s international channels in the U.K., Europe, Russia, Asia, Australia, Latin America and Brazil, as well as the U.S.

Nickelodeon’s 15th Annual Kids’ Choice Awards is being produced by Nickelodeon Productions in association with Bob Bain Productions. Albie Hecht, Bob Bain and Mike Burg are Executive Producers. Burger King and Oscar Meyer Lunchables are title sponsors and Frito Lay is an associate sponsor of Nickelodeon’s 15th Annual Kids’ Choice Awards.

Nickelodeon, now in its 23rd year, is the number-one entertainment brand for kids. It has built a diverse, global business by putting kids first in everything it does. The company includes television programming and production in the United States and around the world, plus consumer products, online, recreation, books, magazines, music and feature films. Nickelodeon’s U.S. television network is seen in more than 84 million households and has been the number-one-rated basic-cable network for more than six consecutive years. Nickelodeon and all related titles, characters and logos are trademarks of Viacom International Inc.