DisneyNOW adds remastered “Little Mermaid” episodes

The DisneyNOW app and website have added five episodes of the classic 1992 Disney animated series The Little Mermaid in their “Under the Sea” collection.

The episodes appear to have been digitally remastered and are presented in a 16:9 high definition format. The show itself was made and aired before HD TV was a thing.

I have made side-by-side comparison images for example (with the original 4:3 broadcast quality on top, and the new 16:9 version on bottom):

The edits appear to include a more defined opening logo:

A retyping of texts for the episode title:

And a retyping of texts for the credits (with a stretched background image):

The actual footage of episodes seem mixed. In order to make it fit a 16:9 format, some of the screen is cropped off at the top and more so on the bottom. However, at least in some scenes, new footage is viewable on the left and right sides.

They also switched out the old “Walt Disney Television” production card for a new “Disney Television Animation” one:

All of the episodes appear viewable without logging in to your TV provider. The five currently available episodes are:

#7 “Marriage of Inconveniences”
#13 “Eel-Ectric City”
#17 “Against the Tide”
#19 “Wish Upon A Starfish”
#29 “Ariel’s Treasures”

The Little Mermaid aired from 1992 to 1994 for 31 episodes on CBS. The series was then aired on Disney Channel, Toon Disney and after the 2012 launch of the Disney Junior channel.